Skip to content
AnglerTechCalc
Menu

Bow mount trolling motors

Minn Kota Riptide PowerDrive 70 saltwater, 54 inch shaft: published specifications

Last updated Researched from published figures and manufacturer specifications, not tested in person

Quick answer

The Minn Kota Riptide PowerDrive 70 saltwater, 54 inch shaft publishes 4 specifications and currently lists at $1,961.48. thrust 70 lb, system voltage 24 V, shaft length 54 in. Every figure below is the manufacturer own, and nothing on this page is estimated.

Seventy pounds of saltwater thrust on 24 volts with a wireless remote, without paying Terrova money.

This sheet exists because comparing two pieces of marine equipment usually means opening two listings in two tabs and reading past the marketing. Everything Minn Kota publishes for this unit is in one table below, followed by the same figures for the nearest alternatives in its category.

Published specifications

Minn Kota publishes 4 figures for the Minn Kota Riptide PowerDrive 70 saltwater, 54 inch shaft.

Published figure A published engineering, regulatory or manufacturer figure. It does not change because somebody disagrees with it.

Minn Kota Riptide PowerDrive 70 saltwater, 54 inch shaft specifications
SpecificationValue
Thrust70 lb
System voltage24 V
Shaft length54 in
Rated forSaltwater

What the manufacturer says

The listing bullets below are the manufacturer own words, reproduced rather than paraphrased so that anything claimed here can be attributed to them rather than to us.

These are Minn Kota own claims for the Minn Kota Riptide PowerDrive 70 saltwater, 54 inch shaft, quoted rather than rewritten.

Published figure A published engineering, regulatory or manufacturer figure. It does not change because somebody disagrees with it.

Minn Kota published feature bullets
Manufacturer claim
Advanced GPS Trolling System: Set Spot-Lock to maintain your precise position and control speed and steering using the most trusted GPS navigation system in fishing
Deploy-Assist Lever: Simply push the lever to deploy your trolling motor into the water and when it's time to move, it stows easily and securely
Marine Corrosion Protection: Motor lower unit housings are grit-blasted and coated in aluminum to prevent oxidization and rust, with a final layer of powder coat paint providing ultimate protection in saltwater environments
Customizable Control: Wireless remote with LCD screen, programmable buttons, and non-slip grip automates boat positioning and control
Efficient Power Management: Digital Maximizer technology extends run time up to 5x longer on a single charge; These variable speed motors only use the power you need to conserve your battery for all day fishing trips; Features push-to-test battery meter

Against the nearest alternatives

The closest products by price in the same category, with the same published figures side by side. A cell reading "not published" means that maker does not state the figure, which is frequently the most useful thing on the row.

Minn Kota Riptide PowerDrive 70 saltwater, 54 inch shaft against its nearest alternatives
Specification Minn Kota Riptide PowerDrive 70 saltwater, 54 inch shaft Minn Kota Terrova 55 with GPS and Spot-Lock, 54 inch shaft Minn Kota Terrova 80 with Spot-Lock and MEGA Down Imaging, 60 inch shaft Minn Kota Terrova 112 with Spot-Lock and MEGA Down Imaging, 60 inch shaft
Price $1,961.48$1,649.99$2,299.99$2,399.99
Thrust 70 lb55 lb80 lb112 lb
System voltage 24 V12 V24 V36 V
Shaft length 54 in54 in60 in60 in
Rated for Saltwaternot publishednot publishednot published
Mounting not publishedBowBowBow
Published maximum draw not published50 A56 A52 A

Every figure above is the manufacturer own published specification. Where a maker does not publish a figure the cell reads "not published" rather than carrying an estimate, because on ratings and currents an estimate that reads as a specification is a safety problem rather than a gap.

What is not on this page

Anything Minn Kota does not publish. We do not estimate a missing figure, interpolate one from a neighbouring model, or repeat a number from a forum. In this category the specifications are ratings and currents, and a reader comparing two products on a grid cannot tell a published rating from an estimate, so an estimate that reads as a specification is a safety problem rather than a gap.

If a figure you need is missing here, it is missing from the manufacturer own listing, and the place to find it is the product manual or the maker technical support rather than any third party table.

Frequently asked questions

What are the Minn Kota Riptide PowerDrive 70 saltwater, 54 inch shaft specifications?

Minn Kota publishes 4 figures for this unit: thrust 70 lb, system voltage 24 V, shaft length 54 in, rated for Saltwater. Everything in the table above comes from the manufacturer own listing rather than from measurement or estimation, and anything the maker does not publish is left out rather than guessed at.

How much does the Minn Kota Riptide PowerDrive 70 saltwater, 54 inch shaft cost?

It currently lists at $1,961.48, though prices in this category move constantly and the figure on the product page is the one that governs. Where two products are close on price, the specification table above is usually a better guide to which is right for your boat than the difference between them.

Are these figures measured or published?

Published. Every number on this page comes from the Minn Kota listing for this exact unit. We do not test equipment in person and we never claim to, and nothing here has been derived, interpolated or rounded from another model. That is also why some rows in the comparison table read "not published" rather than carrying a number.

Why do some comparison cells say not published?

Because that manufacturer does not state that figure for that product. Makers publish different subsets of specifications, and rather than fill the gap with an estimate we leave it visible. On ratings, currents and capacities an estimate that reads as a specification is how somebody ends up with equipment that does not do what they believed it would.

Is this the current model?

It is the unit at this listing, which is the most reliable way to identify a specific product in a category where model names get reused across generations. Manufacturers frequently sell several generations alongside each other, so check the model number in the title against the one you are comparing rather than relying on the family name.

Get the complete rigging shopping list

Every item in the beginner, intermediate and expert rigs for both a boat and a kayak, with running totals, in one printable list. No charge.

One list, no sequence of daily emails, and you can leave at any time.

Researched, not professional advice. This page is compiled from published engineering and regulatory figures, manufacturer specifications and owner-review consensus, not hands-on testing. Figures described as a rule of thumb are boating convention rather than published standards, and they are labelled that way wherever they appear. Marine electrical work is not house wiring. Use tinned, finely stranded marine cable, size it for voltage drop and for the ABYC E-11 ampacity table rather than one or the other, and put overcurrent protection within seven inches of the battery positive terminal, because everything between the post and the fuse is unprotected. A lithium battery needs a charger with a lithium profile. Never load a boat past its capacity plate, and remember that canoes and kayaks carry no federal capacity plate at all, so their stated capacity is the manufacturer own figure. Wear the life jacket, and treat early season water as the hazard it is: cold water immersion takes your breath and then your hands long before it takes your core.