Skip to content
AnglerTechCalc
Menu

Onboard chargers

NOCO GEN5X1 12V 5A 1-bank onboard charger: published specifications

Last updated Researched from published figures and manufacturer specifications, not tested in person

Quick answer

The NOCO GEN5X1 12V 5A 1-bank onboard charger publishes 3 specifications and currently lists at $79.65. charging banks 1, output per bank 5 A, system voltage 12 V. Every figure below is the manufacturer own, and nothing on this page is estimated.

One bank at five amps, which is the right size for a single 50 Ah battery and the cheapest genuine onboard charger here.

This sheet exists because comparing two pieces of marine equipment usually means opening two listings in two tabs and reading past the marketing. Everything NOCO publishes for this unit is in one table below, followed by the same figures for the nearest alternatives in its category.

Published specifications

NOCO publishes 3 figures for the NOCO GEN5X1 12V 5A 1-bank onboard charger.

Published figure A published engineering, regulatory or manufacturer figure. It does not change because somebody disagrees with it.

NOCO GEN5X1 12V 5A 1-bank onboard charger specifications
SpecificationValue
Charging banks1
Output per bank5 A
System voltage12 V

What the manufacturer says

The listing bullets below are the manufacturer own words, reproduced rather than paraphrased so that anything claimed here can be attributed to them rather than to us.

These are NOCO own claims for the NOCO GEN5X1 12V 5A 1-bank onboard charger, quoted rather than rewritten.

Published figure A published engineering, regulatory or manufacturer figure. It does not change because somebody disagrees with it.

NOCO published feature bullets
Manufacturer claim
MEET THE GEN5X1, 37% smaller and 43% more powerful than the GENM1. It's our most compact and advanced onboard charger yet, engineered for peak performance in the harshest marine environments.
SINGLE BANK, A one-bank onboard battery charger rated at 5 amps total - 5 amps per bank. Independently charge 12V batteries in marine, boat, starter, and deep-cycle systems.
CHARGING MODES, Selectable modes for each bank: 12V, 12V AGM, 12V Lithium, and 12V Repair Mode. Independently charge and maintain all types of lead-acid and lithium-ion batteries with precision.
ENJOY PRECISION CHARGING, An integrated thermal sensor adjusts charging based on ambient temperature, preventing overcharging in heat and undercharging in cold for optimal battery performance.
CHARGE DEAD BATTERIES, Charge batteries from as low as 1 volt, or use Force Mode to manually begin charging batteries down to zero volts to recover deeply discharged or neglected batteries.

Against the nearest alternatives

The closest products by price in the same category, with the same published figures side by side. A cell reading "not published" means that maker does not state the figure, which is frequently the most useful thing on the row.

NOCO GEN5X1 12V 5A 1-bank onboard charger against its nearest alternatives
Specification NOCO GEN5X1 12V 5A 1-bank onboard charger NOCO GEN5X2 12V 10A 2-bank onboard charger ProMariner ProSport HD 8A 2-bank waterproof onboard charger ProMariner ProSport HD 12A 2-bank waterproof onboard charger
Price $79.65$139.95$154.85$191.50
Charging banks 1222
Output per bank 5 A5 Anot publishednot published
System voltage 12 V12 Vnot publishednot published
Total output not publishednot published8 A12 A
Waterproof not publishednot publishedYesYes

Every figure above is the manufacturer own published specification. Where a maker does not publish a figure the cell reads "not published" rather than carrying an estimate, because on ratings and currents an estimate that reads as a specification is a safety problem rather than a gap.

What is not on this page

Anything NOCO does not publish. We do not estimate a missing figure, interpolate one from a neighbouring model, or repeat a number from a forum. In this category the specifications are ratings and currents, and a reader comparing two products on a grid cannot tell a published rating from an estimate, so an estimate that reads as a specification is a safety problem rather than a gap.

If a figure you need is missing here, it is missing from the manufacturer own listing, and the place to find it is the product manual or the maker technical support rather than any third party table.

Frequently asked questions

What are the NOCO GEN5X1 12V 5A 1-bank onboard charger specifications?

NOCO publishes 3 figures for this unit: charging banks 1, output per bank 5 A, system voltage 12 V. Everything in the table above comes from the manufacturer own listing rather than from measurement or estimation, and anything the maker does not publish is left out rather than guessed at.

How much does the NOCO GEN5X1 12V 5A 1-bank onboard charger cost?

It currently lists at $79.65, though prices in this category move constantly and the figure on the product page is the one that governs. Where two products are close on price, the specification table above is usually a better guide to which is right for your boat than the difference between them.

Are these figures measured or published?

Published. Every number on this page comes from the NOCO listing for this exact unit. We do not test equipment in person and we never claim to, and nothing here has been derived, interpolated or rounded from another model. That is also why some rows in the comparison table read "not published" rather than carrying a number.

Why do some comparison cells say not published?

Because that manufacturer does not state that figure for that product. Makers publish different subsets of specifications, and rather than fill the gap with an estimate we leave it visible. On ratings, currents and capacities an estimate that reads as a specification is how somebody ends up with equipment that does not do what they believed it would.

Is this the current model?

It is the unit at this listing, which is the most reliable way to identify a specific product in a category where model names get reused across generations. Manufacturers frequently sell several generations alongside each other, so check the model number in the title against the one you are comparing rather than relying on the family name.

Get the complete rigging shopping list

Every item in the beginner, intermediate and expert rigs for both a boat and a kayak, with running totals, in one printable list. No charge.

One list, no sequence of daily emails, and you can leave at any time.

Researched, not professional advice. This page is compiled from published engineering and regulatory figures, manufacturer specifications and owner-review consensus, not hands-on testing. Figures described as a rule of thumb are boating convention rather than published standards, and they are labelled that way wherever they appear. Marine electrical work is not house wiring. Use tinned, finely stranded marine cable, size it for voltage drop and for the ABYC E-11 ampacity table rather than one or the other, and put overcurrent protection within seven inches of the battery positive terminal, because everything between the post and the fuse is unprotected. A lithium battery needs a charger with a lithium profile. Never load a boat past its capacity plate, and remember that canoes and kayaks carry no federal capacity plate at all, so their stated capacity is the manufacturer own figure. Wear the life jacket, and treat early season water as the hazard it is: cold water immersion takes your breath and then your hands long before it takes your core.